->

INDIANANGLER

India fishing forum for all the information you require on angling, equipment, locations and trip reports.
It is currently Fri Jul 20, 2018 10:27 am

All times are UTC+05:30

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 4:03 pm 

Hi I'm new in angling i have been trying to catch some black colour eel tail cat fish from a lake at Chennai called retteri lake.... I have tried many times with diff bait chicken liver prawns and paste made from bread and egg none i landed yet... That lake is full of medium size catfish and rumor their that hug fish about 15 to 20kg also nu even murrel/snakehead called veral in local to catch it only mullet live bait to use nu local told me.... Still now i dint catch anythin. I dint try worms as bait as its tough to find for me.. Can anyone give me a tip so i can get an chance to get fish

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:53 am 

hi saru, worms are pretty good bait. go to any plant nursery and ask them for some worms from their compost pit (they might charge you a small fare)'

Also you can try spinners, not sure how that works on the said fish (I suspect they are either mulley's or Magur's)

this image is that of a mulley (pic by sarath)
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/18/sam1989u.jpg/

this image is that of a magur
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/4372 ... angur2.jpg

BTW, i m not sure if both are morphs of the same species, since i too am a newbie

good luck

Post subject: Hi Anandiyer
PostPosted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 10:50 am 

yes mulley THOSE two fish resemble as same as the fish eel tail catfish but only difference is here its fully black and its little poISON tentacles in head which bigger one even lead to heart attack. But Where is fish is full of weeds and many plants in lake so spinner get struck often. Next time i try with worms but how to hook pu fully of part of worm is enough ah bro

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:25 am